The Australian Counselling Association (ACA) is a National progressive professional peak association of counsellors and psychotherapists with over 5,000 individual members

Professional Development

Event Details - Play Therapy for Sensory Processing Challenges

Title: Play Therapy for Sensory Processing Challenges
Type of Activity: Online Event
Objective of Course / Workshop:

Learning Outcomes

By the end of the workshop you will be able to:

1) Identify play therapy interventions that can be used to address sensory processing challenges.


2) Describe the eight sensory processing areas and causes of sensory challenges.


3) Outline a sensory play therapy diet to help children with sensory struggles

Course / Workshop Outline:

90 min webinar by Robert Jason Grant to learn how to incorperate the use of play therapy for peoplewith sensory processing challenges. 

Includes the opportunity to participate in interactive exercises.

Webinar package also includes written materials for an opportunity for a 30 minute reflection on learning.

Date and Times

NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS

Thu 17th Oct 10.00 - 11.30am

QLD

Thu 17th Oct 9.00 - 10.30am

NT

Thu 17th Oct 8.30 - 10.00am

SA

Thu 17th Oct 9.30 - 11.00am

WA, Malaysia (MYT)/ Philippines (PHT)

Singapore/ Hong Kong

Thu 17th Oct 7.00 - 8.30am

New Zealand

Thu 17th Oct 12.00 - 1.30pm

Fiji (FJT)

Thu 17th Oct 11.00 - 12.30pm

Indonesia (WIB)

Thu 17th Oct 6.00 - 7.30am

US/Canada (Eastern)

Wed 16th Oct 7.00 - 8.30pm

US/Canada (Central)

Wed 16th Oct 6.00 - 7.30pm

US/Canada (Mountain)

Wed 16th Oct 5.00 - 6.30pm

US/Canada (Pacific)

Wed 16th Oct 4.00 - 5.30pm

OPD points: 5
Course / Workshop content:

Webinar Description

90-minute webinar

This webinar will present the benefits of non-directive and structured play therapy as well as the foundations for using play therapy with sensory processing issues. The concept of a sensory play diet will be defined and explored. Play therapy inventions designed to help with sensory issues will be explained and participants will have the opportunity to understand how to create a sensory friendly play room. Online assessment which is required to be completed prior to the issue of a certificate.

Start/End Date: 17/10/2019 to 17/10/2019
Time: 10:00:00 - 12:00:00
Presenter / Provider: Dr Robert Jason Grant
Contact Name: Jacki Short
Contact Phone: 0411 209 802
Contact Email: info@sydneycentreforcreativechange.com.au
Qualifications: Ed.D, RPT-S
Experience:

Dr. Grant is a Licensed Professional Counselor, National Certified Counselor, Registered Play Therapist Supervisor, and Certified Autism Specialist. Dr. Grant completed his education from Missouri State University receiving a B.S. in Psychology and M.S. in Counseling. Dr. Grant further received his doctorate degree in Education from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Dr. Grant is a member of the American Counseling Association, Association for Play Therapy and Missouri Association for Play Therapy.

Dr. Grant owns and operates the Robert Jason Grant Ed.D AutPlay Therapy Clinic and specializes in play therapy techniques with children, adolescents, adults, and families.  Dr. Grant also specializes in working with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Neurodevelopmental Disorders, and Developmental Disabilities and is the creator of AutPlay® Therapy, an Autism treatment using Play Therapy, behavioral therapy, and relationship development approaches. Dr. Grant has authored several publications, book chapters, articles and has written five books on the subjects of play therapy, Autism, and ADHD including the bestselling AutPlay Therapy handbook. Dr. Grant conducts various presentations and workshops on topics such as play therapy and Autism. Dr. Grant has conducted trainings and workshops throughout the United States and internationally. 

Address: N/A
Address 2:
Suburb:
State: N/A
Postcode:
Website: http://www.artandplaytherapytraining.com.au/play_therapy_for_sensory_processing_challenges%C2%A0.html
Parking: Free
Is there disability parking and entry? Yes
Are meals included with this event? No
If yes, what meals?
Registration URL: https://www.artandplaytherapytraining.com.au/play_therapy_for_sensory_processing_challenges%C2%A0.html
Cost ($): $40.00
Registration Instruction (if applicable):

Member Associations

pca cvi